SiriusXM Marine
Blue Wave Boats
Mustang Survival
Lucas Oil
May 23, 2024
Los Sueños Signature Triple Crown 2020
Billfish Featured Fishing News

Los Sueños Signature Triple Crown 2020

Los Sueños Signature Triple Crown 2020

2020 marks the 7th Annual Signature Triple Crown billfish tournament series. The Triple Crown consists of three annual tournaments, in January, February and March each year, and is fished out of the world class Los Sueños Resort and Marina in Costa Rica. The dates for the third and final leg this season are March 25-28. Mark your calendars for 2021! Leg 1: January 20-23, Leg 2: February 24-27, and Leg 3: March 24-27.

1st Place: TEAM GALATI

Team Galati, a 62’ Viking captained by Tony Carrizosa. Anglers Carmine Galati, Pat Healey, Drew McDowell, Eric McDowell, and John Lagrone* released 25 sails and 5 marlin for 5,000 total points and the win. Team Galati seems to like to win the second leg of the Triple Crown; they won first in 2014, 2015, 2019 and now in 2020. They also took third in Leg 3 in 2015.

2nd Place: OUTAGE

Outage, a 61’ Jim Smith captained by Ian Wichers, with anglers Neil Subin, Tom Wichers, Skyler Wichers, Alan Sadler, Joey Trefelner, and Thomas “Smalls” Garmany* released 23 sails and 5 marlin for 4800 points. The team seems to be feeling comfortable on stage. This is their second win, after taking third in Leg 1. They had a slow start in Leg 2, finishing 35th on Day 1, but moved to fifth on Day 2 and finished second on the leaderboard for the tournament, on time.

3rd Place: TARHEEL

Tarheel, a 62’ Bayliss captained by John Bayliss, with anglers Smyth McKissick, Bubba Brizendine, John Bayliss, Jr., Sean O’Donnell, and Jorge Carrillo Agüero* released 33 sails and 3 marlin for 4800 points. Tarheel is no stranger to the winner’s circle, having finished first in Legs 1 and 3, making them the Series Champion in 2015, then taking second in Leg 2 and becoming the Series Champion in 2018, and finally winning second in Leg 2 2019.